Success quote - Learn English Online

Is learning English one of your Greatest Accomplishments?

In June of this year I turned 30 years old. I heard many comments near my birthday from other people relating to  being in my 30’s. The most common question was: How do you feel about being 30?

The truth is I feel like I have the life experience of someone who is much older, maybe even 40. So my answer to the question is typically: I have done a lot of great things already and I don’t have any regrets about not taking action on the things I wanted to pursue. I feel pretty good with what I have accomplished so far!

What have I accomplished so far that make me feel this way? And how do these accomplishments compare to my feelings about learning a second language? Well, here are the highlights:

  • I started my first business at 20, it has been successfully operating for over 10 years now.Success Quote
  • I have travelled to many countries.
  • I found a wonderful husband who feels like my best friend for 12 years now.
  • I own my own home.
  • And I know exactly what I want to do with my life in within the next 5 years.

For someone that is 30, other people may think I have had ‘success’ or accomplished a lot in my life so far; however, none of these things compare to the feeling I have inside when I think about how it will feel when I am able to communicate easily in a second language. I cannot wait until I am able to live the moment where I am in another country and have conversations with new friends in another language, just like the conversations I have now.

There is something different about the process of working through the constant challenges of learning a new language. It is a humbling experience that makes you feel excited, frustrated, super-smart, very stupid, brave, intimidated and embarrassed all in one day! It is nothing like starting a business where you can blame the economy, lack of experience or any other factor – learning a language is personal and the challenges affect you on a personal level.

Success is often determined by money; even though learning a language does not have a monetary impact on your life, I still consider it a huge accomplishment. I even believe it will be one of my greatest success stories. By experience the process that you must go through when learning a language, it is amazing feeling of success when you finally reach your goal. It’s a set of challenges that you have to deal with and overcome them. These are the type of skills that make you a better person at the end of the day, a more productive person that thinks creatively, has discipline and doesn’t give up when things get difficult.Success picture

I hope you guys realize that you have already accomplished a lot, especially if you are reading this blog post in English. Take a minute to recognize how far you have come and give yourself a moment to find that feeling of success you will have inside when you can finally communicate in your new language.

Leave a Reply

